I graduated in 2008 from the University of Cincinnati with my bachelor’s degree in psychology, right as The Great Recession was starting to take root. I was only going to take a year off before I started graduate school because I wanted to gain some work experience before diving back into academia. And yet, here we are 4 years later. People with psychology degrees were amongst the hardest hit in the downturn as 5 of the top 25 unemployed majors last year were psychology-related and clinical psychology was at the very top of the list. With people tightening their belts, mental health professions took a hit as they were deemed an unnecessary expense. I am, however, glad that I did not rush back into graduate school. For the longest time I was planning on going back for school psychology, which sits at #5 on the unemployment.

While I’ve been biding my time at my current position, I’ve occasionally flirted with the idea of graduate school, but am always stopped by the thought of more debt and a still-unstable job market.

Well, this time is different. The more I think about, the more I’ve come to realize that I want a program that I can work on online so that I can continue to work full-time without compromising my education. And the money currently going to paying off my student loans will be put towards the cost of my graduate degree so that I don’t take out more debt than I need.

“But, WanderLustyGirl, what are you planning on studying”

Ah, I’m glad you asked, reader. An emerging field within psychology is a branch called international psychology. It’s focused on studying psychology and it’s use on an international level. If you don’t go into research in this field, you will most likely become a consultant for international organizations ranging from conglomerates to aid organizations. What I am truly interested in is indigenous psychology, which is seemingly frowned upon at the moment. It throws the DSM out the window, which is psychology’s Bible, and says that non-Western cultures have different ways of viewing mental health and that not all psychological disorders are universal in scope. But regardless, international psychology still emphasizes the cultural heritage of a region when applying psychology, so it intrigues me and may lead to more work with indigenous psychology.

But the best part of all is that this combines my love of all things foreign with what I went to graduate school, sprinkled with the possibility of travel. How can I go wrong?

