This is not completely unrelated, but I’m going to qualify my previous statement about not having children. I’ve been watching a little too much Sex and the City lately. Today before I left for work today I was watching A Woman’s Right to Shoes. Now that I’m in my late 20’s and rapidly coming up on my 30’s, I’m surrounded by friends that are engaged, married already, have kids or want to have kids. And by God does Carrie have a point. Between bridal shower, wedding and baby shower gifts, it’s easy to rack up hundreds of dollars per couple, excluding travel if it’s required for these events. And no single person should be chastised for spending money on himself or herself when they spend that same money on their children.

I may not want an extravagant collection of Manolo Blahniks like Carrie, but I want extravagant vacations. I want to be able to go whenever I want and not have to worry about taking my child out of school for trips or hiring nannies. I want to be able to see the world and stay at posh hotels and not have to worry about kids getting lost amidst the throngs of tourists. Why can’t I expect the same kind of financial support for the things I want in life that they get from me? And I shouldn’t have to give up on the life I want because society dictates I have to settle down and procreate. We no longer live in the 18th century. We can choose to do what we want in life.

It shouldn’t be considered selfish to spend the amount of money married folks do on their kids on what I want to do. It shouldn’t be considered less of a responsibility for me financially if my bills are all paid and I choose to take a weekend trip with my extra cash instead. It takes almost a million dollars per child to raise them to 18, excluding college. But all I see are fabulous trips to Tahiti in the overwater bungalows or spending sprees in Paris in my future, not baby formula, clothes that don’t fit after a month and education costs.

I am routinely reminded why I want to be childless, beyond my desire for travel, at work. Kids are snot-nosed brats. No matter how good you think you’re raising them, their friends influence who they are beyond your watch. They may be sweet little angels while you’re around, but get them out with their friends and they are hell-raisers. Trust me, I see it most weekends while we have athletic teams in. The parents sit down for beers and let their children roam free. I’ve even had incidences where a parent will ask if I’ve seen their child. I’m sorry, I’m only paid to work the desk, not to baby-sit your child while you go off and get drunk (again, these are my opinions and don’t reflect those of my company). But therein lies the problem with most parents these days. They have them because they feel some obligation to do so, not because they want to. Not to be a terrible hippie about it, but the planet is extremely overpopulated. Want proof? Look at the job market. There are too many people for not enough jobs. Do you really want to bring a child into the world when they may not be able to find gainful employment as an adult?

I don’t want people to think I’m a hateful hag. I love kids. I just don’t want any of my own and think adults should be more judicious about having kids. Children are a blessing and a responsibility. You shouldn’t have them if you aren’t ready for that burden. I think having a bucket list of things you want to do before you have children is a good idea for any would-be parent. Do your bucket list before having children. You’ll be happier in the long run because you won’t look back and think “Oh, I should’ve done that before I had Sam Jr.” Since my bucket list is extensive, I’ve decided to forgo having children. But that’s my choice. Don’t think less of me for it.

