Something that everyone should know from the start is that I work at the front desk of a national hotel chain. I’ve had this job for 6 years now, so I’ve seen a lot.

As a disclaimer, any thoughts regarding my job are mine and mine alone. They do not represent the views of my coworkers, my company or management team. They are just my observations.

One of my biggest pet peeves are guests who chew you a new asshole if something goes wrong. If you’re so worked up over something and you start yelling at us, you’re going to get one of two responses from most hotel employees. 1. The employee will try to calm you down by saying “I understand” then talk about options to make your stay better. Please stop yelling and listen to what they are saying. Take a chill pill and work with them. They are trying their best to rectify the situation. 2. Your yelling will cause the employee to shut down and they will not put the effort into helping you. You will continue to be pissed off and nothing will get done besides the bare minimum…if you’re lucky.

I know I am much more likely to put just a wee bit more effort into helping someone and even go above & beyond (free breakfast, drinks) if someone treats me with the dignity I deserve as a fellow human being. Go ahead and get a good yell in, but if the entire conversation is you yelling at me and not listening to how I’m trying to help you, the conversation isn’t going to go very far.

It’s easy to tell if you’re staying at a hotel where people enjoy their work. People will bend over backwards to make sure your stay is excellent. But you have to work with us. If we can’t completely fix your problem, we will try to work something out. We may not be able to switch you to a room with 2 beds tonight, but we can move you tomorrow night and give you some extra bedding for tonight. Oh, I’m sorry it’s a smoking room. We can deodorize the room to help mask the smell for the night.

So please, keep this in mind the next time you’re at a hotel and something goes wrong. You’ll get a lot further with us.

Anything you want to know? Leave a comment!!

